Hacktober Fest Impact on Individual Open-Source Journey

Hacktober Fest Impact on Individual Open-Source Journey

Over two week into HacktoberFest and I've been able to make a number of contributions. I feel excited since when I started off contributing for my first time it was a project that was full-stack and one had to set up plus choose issues either from the backend or frontend.

That project was a javascript project but for the frontend, we were using a different framework from React, backend we were using Koajs framework instead of express with PostgreSQL for me I had used MongoDB previously testing we were using cypress and I had used jest for unit-test before so this gave a different mindset about open-source projects that I would always have to interact with a new tech stack always despite it being a chance to learn it seemed overwhelming to me.

Hacktober fest has given a different experience since I have come across repo with issues that were tagged beginner-friendly and they are easy to contribute to.

The first one the issues I got and worked on were more of contributing to a website that guides beginners on how to fork, set up projects, and contributes as well as modifying the Contribution.md page.

For the second one has been more interesting it's more of listening to podcast sessions and improving the transcripts of various episodes. What's awesome about SE Unlocked podcast is the fact that the host Dr. Michaela is the fact that has interviewed almost 25 top tech influencers, among questions includes: interview process in the tech companies they work for, learned that most of them didn't have to apply they approached by hiring managers from those organizations.

She is mostly concerned with code review and how it's done in most 'big'. There journey in open-source and how it impacted their career track like one who moved from software engineering to Machine Learning because of influence of contributing to Google Summer of Code and some of how they mentor newbies/beginners in the companies they work and other community work tech companies.

This has completely changed my perception towards OS and at the moment I'm looking for projects to contribute to slowly by slowly. I think I'll continue contributing to issues I'm comfortable with. Thanks for reading my article you can read the previous one to check for opportunities in the OS industry.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Sharon Jebitok by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!